Facebook Official

Leave a comment

July 6, 2013 by NowhereButPop

By Khalid Bennett

Social media…it’s been a way of life since…well I don’t know when social media officially started. All I know that it has been a big part of my generation growing up.

There are too many social websites to list. But so far, the most popular social media website is Facebook. Facebook is really becoming a part of everyone’s lives. About 1 billion people have a Facebook account. That’s basically one-seventh of the world population. People use it pretty much every day. Facebook has become a part of society so much, if you don’t use it often or have one, it’s like you aren’t a part of society. You are a hermit, reclusive, shunned, unaware of what the hell is going on.

So why did I not use it?

On June 21st, 2013, I officially started using Facebook again. I hadn’t used it since April 2012. I had logged on one or two times but never replied to any posts, accepted any friend requests, didn’t poke anyone, no status updates, absolutely NOTHING. If that was the case, how did I manage not to use Facebook for so long?

Yes, basically all my friends were on Facebook. I didn’t care. At the time I took my hiatus, all I read was about how everyone was getting married, engaged, pregnant, doing well with their career jobs, and drama. It got boring to me. I didn’t care what everyone was doing. I didn’t care about the stupid drama that I was reading. I didn’t care at all. So I just stopped using it.

So what did I use to replace it?

I do have a Twitter account and that was a good thing for me. The people that I followed and followed me were close friends and friends I actually cared about. The whole concept of Twitter was pretty simple and that’s why I used that. As much as I used Twitter, I didn’t miss Facebook at all. Yes, I did worry about some of my friends that I used to talk to on Facebook but I was like whatever. I basically kept in touch with certain people on Twitter.

Also, I did have a phone, so most of my contacts were people close to me and kept in contact. And I actually hung out with them. Yes people, there is life outside of Twitter and Facebook.

I also joined Tumblr. I was just bored with the people I know. I wanted to meet new people. It wasn’t like I wanted to meet them; I just wanted to chat with them. I wanted to know about their life from their perspectives and backgrounds. It was actually pretty fun and I had met some interesting people. It’s an interesting thing that I met my girlfriend on Tumblr, but that’s beside the point.

The use of Twitter and Tumblr didn’t want me to go back to Facebook. I was satisfied with the social media I was experiencing. I still didn’t care about being on Facebook. But it did come to a point where I was wondering how certain people were doing. My friends from middle school, my friends from high school, my friends from college, other special friends…I really did want to know what was going on with them.

Now it’s June 17th. My girlfriend and I became official…which means we later on became “Facebook official”.  At the point in time, I really did want to come back. I figured why not? It’s been long enough. I was finally happy with myself. I have a job now, not the best one but it’s a job nonetheless. I was very happy with my girlfriend. I could honestly say that life was good. Believe it or not, the main reason why I took the hiatus was because I wasn’t happy with myself at the time. Seeing how everyone’s life was going so great, I couldn’t deal with it at all.

But now I am back. What does that mean?

As of now, I still don’t use it that much. I check it once in a while. I’ll update my status like 3 times a week. I don’t “like” everything that is posted and I definitely don’t check everyone’s status or profile update. It’s not worth it. There are more important things in life than what someone posted on Facebook; even though it has become a big part of life and society.

Overall, I think the 1+ year Facebook hiatus is what I needed. I needed to get away from it all. I needed to focus on some things and not on others. That was the most important thing.

But yes I am back and I don’t mind it at all…as long as I’m not looking at it on my phone or computer every freaking minute. I think I will be fine.

Leave a Reply

Join 121 other followers

