VMA’s: How Far You’ve Fallen

Leave a comment

September 2, 2013 by NowhereButPop

By Khalid Bennett

It is that time of year. It’s the time of year where we celebrate all the achievements in music within the past year. It’s a good time because you get to see and recap all the great things that has happened in music. You get to see all the nominees, presenters, winners, and performances by some of the biggest names in music.

Sounds like an awesome awards show huh? Well, not exactly.

The way I described it, it sounds like the Grammys, right? Considering it’s September, I’m about 7 months late to be talking about the Grammys. I guess I have to talk about the next best thing, the VMAs.

The VMAs is the Video Music Awards and it is always on MTV. The VMAs used to be one of the best music award shows of the year, in terms of the crazy shit that happens. It may not be as renowned as the Grammys but winning a Moon Man seems pretty cool. I would love to go into the history of the VMAs but unfortunately, I have to write about this year’s show.

Now, how should I describe this year’s VMAs? I can’t say that it’s the next best thing to the Grammys. It’s similar to having a cousin who you love no matter what but he/she will mess up at times and won’t learn his/her lesson. All you can do is shake your head, hope for the best, and realize that he or she is a great person. That’s how I felt when watching the VMAs.

The first thing that I see is Lady Gaga’s face with a white background around her face. Then the camera pans out and there she is wearing a…I don’t what is was. I figured this was classic Lady Gaga, in the sense of her wearing ridiculous and out-of-bounds clothing. Then during the performance, I don’t understand the constant changing of her wardrobe and her wigs. To top it off, she finishes wearing seashells as a bikini. All of that happened and I don’t remember what she sang or how the performance was. I mean, it’s nice to see Lady Gaga back but how much fame does she have left? I’ve actually forgotten that she still does music. Well, let the countdown begin on how much time she has left in her music career.

If that was the first thing I saw, I had a feeling that the VMAs would be a little crazy that night. In terms of awards, I’m satisfied with whomever won in their respective category. It’s not really satisfaction, I just don’t care as much as I used to. The award show is supposed to celebrate music videos. If you haven’t realized, watching music videos isn’t as common as it was when I a teenager. I don’t even care to watch music videos anymore. I’ll watch a video one time and that’s it. It’s not like when you would watch a music video over and over for a certain period of time. I applaud MTV for keeping the tradition going with some of the categories they have like “Best Visual Effects”, “Best Editing”, and “Best Art Direction”, but I really think that it’s just based on the best popular song (or most popular artist in some cases).

Now back to the performances.

The best performance that everyone has talked about is Justin Timberlake. He won the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award. It’s one of those memorable/dedication type awards. He deserves it. A lot of people realize that he has been a successful musician since he went solo. You could even classify him as a music superstar. He just did it quietly, cleanly, and with no bullshit with him. You have to admit that every single he has released has been a hit and the most popular song during that time of year. We just don’t acknowledge him for that like some other artists but you can’t say that he hasn’t been successful at all. His performance was sweet and simple, performing all of his hits from the past. Then it actually happened. The big rumor of some kind of reunion happened. Yes, the group N’Sync finally got back together after eleven years. It’s nice to see that three out of the five members seem fit. Too bad that they only performed two songs (“Girlfriend” and “Bye, Bye, Bye). All in all, I was glad to see them back together again, considering I actually liked N’Sync when I was much younger. Continuing with JT, he then finally performed “Suit & Tie” and “Mirrors” to close the performance. This was a performance that was definitely needed, considering what had happened before. This definitely shows what the VMAs can bring.

As for the other performers, Drake, Bruno Mars, Macklemore did their thing. They weren’t the best performances but watchable. I didn’t care for Kanye West’s performance. I didn’t get the concept of him in silhouette form but then again, it is Kanye West. Who knows what goes in his head? As for Katy Perry, I thought it was too much for her to perform near the Brooklyn Bridge. I understand she has made good music but I don’t think she’s that great. I mean, the Brooklyn Bridge, seriously?

And now, the moment you, I, and everyone in the freaking universe hated; Miley Cyrus’ performance. All I remember from that performance is teddy bears and Miley Cyrus twerking. I wanted to gauge my eyes out. I wish I could drink something to help me forget that part of the show. What I saw was the most disgusting, vile thing I’ve ever seen. First of all, I do not get the concept with the teddy bears and her dressing in a mouse-like bathing suit or whatever that was. She made teddy bears seem adult-rated. I don’t even want to go to what she was wearing. And then you got her shaking her ass, and shaking her ass, and once again, shaking her ass non-stop. It was like watching the atomic bomb fall right in front of our TV screens. It was an abomination. I don’t know how else to describe it. If you saw the audience’s reaction, that’s how my reaction was, and probably everyone else’s in the homes of the TV audience.

I have a message for you Miley Cyrus. Actually I don’t. Why? I believe that performance said it all. If that’s how people want to see you, then keep doing what you are doing. I’m sure you enjoy being a tramp, white trash; I can’t think of any other names.

I guess I can give this year’s VMAs a C+. I’d say let’s congratulate Justin Timberlake, Macklemore, and a few others for saving it this year for what could’ve been a real TV disaster.

I hope for nothing like that next year, but then again, it’s MTV.

Leave a Reply

Join 121 other followers

