The Thought Tapes Vol. IV: Hit Me You Can’t Hurt Me

Leave a comment

October 2, 2013 by NowhereButPop

By Andrew Doscas

I’ve been listening to the Red Hot Chili Pepper album, Stadium Arcadium for the past week now, and I don’t know why.  I never thought too fondly about the album when compared to Blood Sugar Sex Magik or Californication, but since I’ve been listening to it nonstop I’ve come to really love the album.  “Turn It Again”, “Tell Me Baby”, and “Wet Sand” are some of the greatest songs in the band’s history…they’re just really great.

I can’t type as fast as I think, and this is proving to be very frustrating.  In all honesty, as Nowherebutpop.com is closing in on our 200th article, I have to say that there are two articles that I absolutely hate.  Both are written by me, and while I don’t think they are objectively bad or poorly written, they have no reason for being, no emotion, no nothing to them.  These two articles merely are, they exist without reason; there’s no heart pumping blood.  Both articles are merely expositional descriptions of things without any sort of analytics human feel to them.

My favorite articles of mine are the ones that are partially inspired, or based on real events or feelings.  I love the most recent article I wrote, one I did on Pablo Picasso and Dora Maar, and the one on “Hey Ya”.  All three of these were inspired by either feelings I had or women who had inspired those feelings.  It seems strange, but the more I think about it the less so it seems, but my biggest source of inspiration comes from the women that I’ve been with either presently or in the past.

And then the question is raised though: “Do any of them ever think about me?”  Even as a passing thought, and if so how.  Fondly?  Unaffectionate?  Or God forbid even regret?  And I know I’m not the only one who thinks about this; we all think about not only someone’s affect on us, but how we affect somebody else.

What a weird stream of consciousness, you have going on Andrew.  Without spell check, I really don’t think I could spell consciousness.  I just copied and pasted the second consciousness from the first one.  I once had to read an article in college about how spellcheck was actually making people stupider, and how the author wished for the destruction of all computers.  It was a really stupid article.  One year from now, will I look back at this article and think that this is a stupid article?  Will it become the third article that I hate?  No, I don’t think so, so there’s really no reason to worry about it.  If we aren’t our own harshest critic then who else will be?

Every time I think about that question, Quicksilver from the X-Men always comes to mind.  For some reason he is the paradigm I think of, when I think of people being way too hard on themselves.  I see similarities between myself and Quicksilver.  There’s one character everyone

Leave a Reply

